Shea butter from Ghana

Traditionally made & unrefined

"With SHEA YEAH, I'm bridging the gap between time-honored plant traditions cultivated by women - in Ghana and Switzerland."

Sandra

A beneficial raw material

Popular for centuries, shea butter exhibits amazing nourishing and protective properties. It makes the skin supple, binds moisture to the epidermis and thus prevents it from drying out. Shea butter is known to penetrate deep into the skin and give it a natural glow.

Due to its many positive properties, it is used in many care products such as lotions, creams, lip balms & Co. It is a true multi-talent and is used not only in cosmetics but also in the food industry.

Sheabutter
Sheabutter Herkunft

The origin

The natural occurrence of the shea tree is from West Africa to the Upper Nile region, i.e. in about 21 countries of the Sahel zone. The main producing countries of shea butter, also called shea butter or Beurre de Karité, are Senegal, Mali, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Nigeria, Gambia, Benin and Burkina Faso. The shea tree is a characteristic tree of the savannah woodland. We at SHEA YEA source the shea butter from the north of Ghana.

Production shea butter

SHEA BUTTER TRADITIONALLY MADE

Many women in the rural village communities of northern Ghana have mastered a true art form of a craft: that of traditionally processing shea kernels into unrefined shea butter. This process takes several days and is carefully done by hand. For generations, this knowledge has been passed down among the women and maintained in this way. A parallel as it happens with the knowledge around the herbs in Switzerland.

THE COOPERATIVES

The women who work in the processing centers (we only work with handmade material) are organized in cooperatives. These cooperatives are independent and very democratic with a board of directors elected by the members. The cooperatives pay the employees transparently and equally based on the quantities produced. Our local partner on the ground pays the cooperatives and they pay their members and cover their costs. The organic shea butter is also Fair For Life certified and audited every year. We are also a member of the Global Shea Alliance based in Accra, Ghana.

The difference

The quality of shea butter varies, similar to the production of a wine or olive oil, depending on the origin and processing method. Therefore, there are significant differences in quality from shea butter to shea butter. We focus especially on unrefined, pure shea butter and also ensure the high quality of our products with other factors:

  • Traditional production
  • Organic certified
  • Tested in laboratory
  • Direct contacts on site
  • Membership of the Global Shea Alliance (GSA) to promote the sustainability (social, environmental and economic) of the shea industry

Sustainable cycle

SHEA YEAH tries, wherever possible, to use the environment's resources sparingly.

Our partners also support us in this. Therefore, for example, the by-products of production are recycled into fuel & feed using a traditional system. The fuel in turn is then used instead of wood for production. This creates a natural utilization cycle that benefits the environment.

See for yourself
from SHEA YEAH

To the store

Beurre de karité du Ghana

Produit traditionnellement & non raffiné

"Avec SHEA YEAH, je jette un pont entre des traditions végétales éprouvées et cultivées par des femmes - au Ghana et en Suisse".

Sandra

Une matière première bienfaisante

Le beurre de karité, apprécié depuis des siècles, présente des propriétés de soin et de protection étonnantes. Il assouplit la peau, fixe l'humidité sur l'épiderme et empêche ainsi le dessèchement. Le beurre de karité est connu pour pénétrer profondément dans la peau et lui donner un éclat naturel.

Grâce à ses nombreuses propriétés positives, il est utilisé dans de nombreux produits de soins tels que les lotions, les crèmes, les baumes à lèvres et autres. C'est un véritable multitalent qui, outre les cosmétiques, est également utilisé dans l'industrie alimentaire.

Sheabutter
Sheabutter Herkunft

L'origine

L'arbre de karité se trouve naturellement en Afrique de l'Ouest et dans la région du Nil supérieur, c'est-à-dire dans environ 21 pays de la zone sahélienne. Les principaux pays producteurs de beurre de karité, également appelé beurre de karité ou beurre de karité, sont le Sénégal, le Mali, la Côte d'Ivoire, le Ghana, le Nigeria, la Gambie, le Bénin et le Burkina Faso. Le karité est un arbre caractéristique du pays des savanes boisées. Chez SHEA YEA, nous nous procurons le beurre de karité dans le nord du Ghana.

Production de beurre de karité

LE BEURRE DE KARITÉ FABRIQUÉ DE MANIÈRE TRADITIONNELLE

De nombreuses femmes des communautés villageoises rurales du nord du Ghana maîtrisent une véritable forme d'artisanat : celui de la transformation traditionnelle des amandes de karité en beurre de karité non raffiné. Ce processus dure plusieurs jours et est soigneusement réalisé à la main. Depuis des générations, ce savoir-faire est transmis entre les femmes et perpétué de cette manière. Un parallèle avec le savoir-faire en matière d'herbes en Suisse.

LES COOPÉRATIVES

Les femmes qui travaillent dans les centres de transformation (nous ne travaillons qu'avec du matériel artisanal) sont organisées en coopératives. Ces coopératives sont indépendantes et très démocratiques, avec un conseil d'administration élu par les membres. Les coopératives rémunèrent les collaborateurs de manière transparente et égale, sur la base des quantités produites. Notre partenaire local sur place paie les coopératives et celles-ci rémunèrent leurs membres et couvrent leurs frais. Le beurre de karité bio est en outre certifié Fair For Life et est contrôlé chaque année. Nous sommes également membres de l'Alliance mondiale pour le karité, dont le siège est à Accra, au Ghana.

La différence

Comme pour la production d'un vin ou d'une huile d'olive, la qualité du beurre de karité varie en fonction de son origine et de la méthode de transformation. C'est pourquoi il existe des différences significatives de qualité d'un beurre de karité à l'autre. Nous misons particulièrement sur le beurre de karité pur non raffiné et veillons également à la qualité supérieure de nos produits grâce à d'autres facteurs :

  • Fabrication traditionnelle
  • Certifié bio
  • Testé en laboratoire
  • Contacts directs sur place
  • Adhésion à l'Alliance mondiale du karité (GSA) pour promouvoir la durabilité (sociale, environnementale et économique) de l'industrie du karité.

Cycle durable

SHEA YEAH essaie, dans la mesure du possible, de ménager les ressources de l'environnement.

Nos partenaires nous soutiennent également dans cette démarche. C'est pourquoi, par exemple, les sous-produits de la production sont recyclés en combustible et en aliments pour animaux grâce à un système traditionnel. Le combustible est ensuite utilisé à la place du bois pour la production. Il en résulte un cycle d'utilisation naturel qui profite à l'environnement.

Convaincs-toi par toi-même
de SHEA YEAH

Vers la boutique