About us

The Story behind SHEA YEAH

We rethink time-tested traditions!

Sandra, the founder of SHEA YEAH, became fascinated with the production of ointments, balms and oil extracts through her training as a farmer in a Swiss convent. There, it was customary to make one's own creams and the like for everyday use with the help of numerous Swiss herbs. These natural cosmetic recipes according to old traditions were very appealing to her sensitive skin and from then on Sandra mixed her own cosmetics.

Frauenkloster Schweitz
Pflanzen-Tradition Ghana

She came to the unusual combination of these herbs with unrefined shea butter when she felt the soothing and moisturising effects on her own body during a stay in Ghana. She incorporated them into her previous formulations and was thrilled with the results. Since then, Ghanaian shea butter and Swiss herbs have been fused together to create SHEA YEAH's water-free natural cosmetic products.

The founder

I was born and raised in Zurich, Switzerland. After school and a commercial apprenticeship, I packed my bags to discover the wide world. On the way, I fell in love with a circus artist and from then on earned my living as a street performer. Back in Switzerland, I worked as a trainer in a children's circus and also performed there as a variety artist. I spent the winter months in the mountains - on the ski slopes during the day and in a hotel where I worked at night.

Later, I trained as a farmer in a women's convent, worked in various fields and then learned the online business from scratch at a web design agency. When I moved to the communications department of an international non-profit organisation, I started to build up SHEA YEAH on the side.

In addition to my existing knowledge, I trained as a natural cosmetician while working. After four years at SHEA YEAH as a part-time job, I ventured into self-employment in 2020. Today I can say that I am glad I took this step. My various professional experiences are now perfectly combined in my everyday work. Who would have thought that :)

Less is more - water-free natural skincare

However, the good old calendula and comfrey ointments, which were mixed according to old recipes by our mothers and grandmothers, were always without water. Today, this so-called "waterless beauty principle" is experiencing a new boom worldwide - and rightly so, because waterless cosmetics have many advantages for people and the environment. Learn more in our blog.

#NATURE #SAVEWATER #LOWCONSUMPTIONBEAUTY #REDUCE

A conscious focus on the ingredients

Wherever possible, we use organically grown, wild and natural ingredients. Our shea butter is unrefined and comes from controlled organic cultivation. The herbs come 100% from Switzerland and are tried and tested. Vegetable oils are also used cold-pressed whenever possible. Only the most essential ingredients are used in our formulas to make your skin radiant.

#skinimalism #lessbutbetter

With the shea butter and the herbs, we go straight to the origin of the plants back: To Ghana and Switzerland. In both places, valuable knowledge about plants has been cultivated and preserved for generations. With the best from both countries, we create care products for a whole new skin feeling.

waterfree
receipe

vegan
ingrediants

without
preservative

biological
cultivation

Manufactured
in Germany

For a conscious approach to production

For us, working with suitable partners who share our philosophy is the most important ingredient for honest business. That is why we work with a production partner who cares as much about sustainable action as we do. As an innovator, developer and manufacturer of high-quality (natural) cosmetics, the company has been balancing its CO2 emissions since 2016, among other things, and has been reducing emissions ever since. The topic of diversity is also actively addressed and always present in the company.

The high level of internal awareness regarding sustainability ensures a conscious focus on the manufacturing of products among the employees. For example, it has been possible to significantly reduce the amount of waste produced during production. The investment in resource-efficient production technology also enables material and energy savings.

By the end of 2022, all of our partner's activities are to be climate-neutral. The CO2 emissions that cannot be avoided will be neutralised through appropriate compensation. We are proud to have such a conscious partner at our side and to constantly improve together with them.

Our milestones since foundation

2016: SHEA YEAH's online shop goes live

2017: Extensive product research in the country of origin of shea butter, Ghana.

2017: Move into the first production facility - a studio in Zurich's Old Town

2018: Membership in Global Shea Alliance

2018: Visit to the Shea Centre in Ghana

2018: Listing of the first SHEA YEAH products in selected pharmacies, drugstores and shops in Switzerland.

2018: The first media echo

2019: Training as a natural cosmetician

2019: Visit to the Global Shea Conference in Ghana

2019: Start of cooperation with Bellevue Pharmacy

2021: Appearance on the Vox start-up show "Die Höhle der Löwen" - Ralf Dümmel joins as an investor

2022: Broadcast of the programme and start of sales throughout the EU area

Learn more about SHEA YEAH

À propos de nous

L'histoire derrière SHEA YEAH

Nous repensons des traditions qui ont fait leurs preuves !

C'est en suivant une formation de paysanne dans un monastère féminin suisse que Sandra, la fondatrice de SHEA YEAH, est devenue fascinée par la fabrication de pommades, de baumes et d'extraits d'huile. Là-bas, il était courant de fabriquer soi-même des crèmes et autres produits pour la vie quotidienne à l'aide de nombreuses herbes suisses. Ces recettes de cosmétiques naturels basées sur des traditions anciennes convenaient parfaitement à sa peau sensible et Sandra a donc commencé à mélanger elle-même ses cosmétiques.

Frauenkloster Schweitz
Pflanzen-Tradition Ghana

La combinaison inhabituelle de ces herbes avec du beurre de karité non raffiné lui est venue lorsqu'elle a ressenti sur son propre corps les effets apaisants et hydratants lors d'un séjour au Ghana. Elle les a intégrées dans ses recettes existantes et a été enthousiasmée par le résultat. Depuis, le beurre de karité ghanéen et les herbes suisses se fondent ensemble pour donner naissance aux produits cosmétiques naturels sans eau de SHEA YEAH.

La fondatrice

Je suis née et j'ai grandi à Zurich, en Suisse. Après l'école et un apprentissage de commerce, j'ai fait mes valises pour découvrir le vaste monde. En chemin, je suis tombée amoureuse d'un artiste de cirque et j'ai commencé à gagner ma vie en tant qu'artiste de rue. De retour en Suisse, j'ai travaillé comme entraîneur dans un cirque pour enfants et je me suis également produite comme artiste de variété. Je passais les mois d'hiver à la montagne - le jour sur les pistes de ski et la nuit dans un hôtel où je travaillais.

Plus tard, j'ai suivi une formation de paysanne dans un couvent de femmes, j'ai travaillé dans différents domaines et j'ai ensuite appris le commerce en ligne de A à Z dans une agence de design web. Lorsque je suis passée au service de communication d'une organisation internationale à but non lucratif, j'ai commencé à mettre en place SHEA YEAH en parallèle.

En complément de mes connaissances existantes, j'ai suivi une formation en cours d'emploi pour devenir cosméticienne naturelle. Après quatre ans de SHEA YEAH en tant que job d'appoint, j'ai osé me mettre à mon compte en 2020. Aujourd'hui, je peux dire que je suis heureuse d'avoir fait ce choix. Mes diverses expériences professionnelles se combinent aujourd'hui parfaitement dans mon travail quotidien. Qui l'aurait cru :)

Moins, c'est plus - Cosmétique naturelle sans eau

Les bonnes vieilles pommades au calendula et à la consoude, mélangées selon une recette ancestrale par nos mères et nos grands-mères, étaient pourtant toujours sans eau. Aujourd'hui, ce principe dit de "waterless beauty" connaît un nouvel essor dans le monde entier - et à juste titre, car les cosmétiques sans eau présentent de nombreux avantages pour l'homme et l'environnement. Apprends-en plus dans notre blog.

#NATURE #SAVEWATER #LOWCONSUMPTIONBEAUTY #REDUCE

L'accent conscient sur les ingrédients

Dans la mesure du possible, nous misons sur des ingrédients biologiques, sauvages et naturels. Notre beurre de karité n'est pas raffiné et provient de cultures biologiques contrôlées. Les herbes proviennent à 100 % de Suisse et ont fait leurs preuves depuis longtemps. Les huiles végétales sont en outre utilisées, dans la mesure du possible, pressées à froid. Nos recettes ne contiennent que le strict nécessaire pour que ta peau rayonne.

#skinimalism #lessbutbetter

Pour le beurre de karité et les herbes, nous retournons directement à l'origine des plantes : au Ghana et en Suisse. Dans ces deux endroits, un précieux savoir sur les plantes est cultivé depuis des générations et ainsi préservé. Avec le meilleur de ces deux pays, nous créons des produits de soin qui procurent une toute nouvelle sensation à la peau.

Formule sans eau

Ingrédients végétaliens

sans conservateurs

culture biologique

Fabriqué
en Allemagne

Pour une approche consciente de la production

Pour nous, la collaboration avec des partenaires appropriés qui partagent notre philosophie est l'élément le plus important d'une activité économique honnête. C'est pourquoi nous travaillons avec un partenaire de production qui a autant à cœur que nous d'agir de manière durable. En tant qu'innovateur, développeur et fabricant de cosmétiques (naturels) haut de gamme, l'entreprise établit notamment un bilan de ses émissions de CO2 depuis 2016 et réduit depuis lors ses rejets. . Le thème de la diversité est également activement thématisé et toujours présent dans l'entreprise.

La forte sensibilisation interne à la durabilité permet aux collaborateurs de se concentrer sur la fabrication des produits. Ainsi, les déchets de production ont pu être réduits de manière significative. L'investissement dans des techniques de production efficaces en termes de ressources permet également de réaliser des économies de matériaux et d'énergie.

D'ici fin 2022, toutes les activités de notre partenaire devront en outre être climatiquement neutres. Les émissions de CO2 qui ne peuvent être évitées seront neutralisées par une compensation correspondante. Nous sommes fiers d'avoir un partenaire aussi conscient à nos côtés et de nous améliorer constamment avec lui.

Nos étapes clés depuis la création

2016 : La boutique en ligne de SHEA YEAH est mise en ligne.

2017 : Recherches approfondies sur les produits dans le pays d'origine du beurre de karité, le Ghana.

2017 : Emménagement dans le premier site de production - un atelier dans la vieille ville de Zurich.

2018 : Adhésion à l'Alliance mondiale du karité

2018 : Visite du centre de karité au Ghana

2018 : Référencement des premiers produits SHEA YEAH dans des pharmacies, drogueries et magasins sélectionnés en Suisse.

2018 : Le premier écho médiatique

2019 : Formation de cosméticienne naturelle

2019 : Visite de la Conférence mondiale sur le karité au Ghana

2019 : Début de la collaboration avec la pharmacie Bellevue

2021 : Participation à l'émission de fondateurs de Vox "Die Höhle der Löwen" - Ralf Dümmel y entre en tant qu'investisseur.

2022 : Diffusion de l'émission et lancement des ventes dans toute l'UE

En savoir plus sur SHEA YEAH