Shea butter from Ghana

Traditionally made & unrefined

"With SHEA YEAH, I'm bridging the gap between time-honored plant traditions cultivated by women - in Ghana and Switzerland."

Sandra

A beneficial raw material

Popular for centuries, shea butter exhibits amazing nourishing and protective properties. It makes the skin supple, binds moisture to the epidermis and thus prevents it from drying out. Shea butter is known to penetrate deep into the skin and give it a natural glow.

Due to its many positive properties, it is used in many care products such as lotions, creams, lip balms & Co. It is a true multi-talent and is used not only in cosmetics but also in the food industry.

Sheabutter
Sheabutter Herkunft

The origin

The natural occurrence of the shea tree is from West Africa to the Upper Nile region, i.e. in about 21 countries of the Sahel zone. The main producing countries of shea butter, also called shea butter or Beurre de Karité, are Senegal, Mali, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Nigeria, Gambia, Benin and Burkina Faso. The shea tree is a characteristic tree of the savannah woodland. We at SHEA YEA source the shea butter from the north of Ghana.

Production shea butter

SHEA BUTTER TRADITIONALLY MADE

Many women in the rural village communities of northern Ghana have mastered a true art form of a craft: that of traditionally processing shea kernels into unrefined shea butter. This process takes several days and is carefully done by hand. For generations, this knowledge has been passed down among the women and maintained in this way. A parallel as it happens with the knowledge around the herbs in Switzerland.

THE COOPERATIVES

The women who work in the processing centers (we only work with handmade material) are organized in cooperatives. These cooperatives are independent and very democratic with a board of directors elected by the members. The cooperatives pay the employees transparently and equally based on the quantities produced. Our local partner on the ground pays the cooperatives and they pay their members and cover their costs. The organic shea butter is also Fair For Life certified and audited every year. We are also a member of the Global Shea Alliance based in Accra, Ghana.

The difference

The quality of shea butter varies, similar to the production of a wine or olive oil, depending on the origin and processing method. Therefore, there are significant differences in quality from shea butter to shea butter. We focus especially on unrefined, pure shea butter and also ensure the high quality of our products with other factors:

  • Traditional production
  • Organic certified
  • Tested in laboratory
  • Direct contacts on site
  • Membership of the Global Shea Alliance (GSA) to promote the sustainability (social, environmental and economic) of the shea industry

Sustainable cycle

SHEA YEAH tries, wherever possible, to use the environment's resources sparingly.

Our partners also support us in this. Therefore, for example, the by-products of production are recycled into fuel & feed using a traditional system. The fuel in turn is then used instead of wood for production. This creates a natural utilization cycle that benefits the environment.

See for yourself
from SHEA YEAH

To the store

Shea­butter aus Ghana

Traditionell hergestellt & unraffiniert

«Mit SHEA YEAH schlage ich die Brücke zwischen altbewährten Pflanzen-Traditionen die von Frauen gepflegt werden - in Ghana und der Schweiz.»

Sandra

Ein wohltuender Rohstoff

Die seit Jahrhunderten beliebte Sheabutter zeigt erstaunlich pflegende und schützende Eigenschaften. Sie macht die Haut geschmeidig, bindet Feuchtigkeit an die Oberhaut und verhindert so das Austrocknen. Sheabutter ist dafür bekannt, tief in die Haut einzudringen und ihr einen natürlichen Glow zu verleihen.

Durch ihre vielen positiven Eigenschaften wird sie in vielen Pflegeprodukten wie Lotionen, Cremen, Lippenbalsamen & Co. verwendet. Sie ist ein wahres Multitalent und kommt nebst Kosmetika auch in der Lebensmittelindustrie zum Einsatz.

Sheabutter
Sheabutter Herkunft

Die Herkunft

Das natürliche Vorkommen des Sheabaumes ist von Westafrika bis zur Ober-Nil-Region, sprich in zirka 21 Ländern der Sahel-Zone. Die Hauptproduktionsländer von Sheabutter, auch Karitébutter oder Beurre de Karité genannt, sind Senegal, Mali, Elfenbeinküste, Ghana, Nigeria, Gambia, Benin und Burkina Faso. Der Sheabaum ist ein charakteristischer Baum des Savannen Holzlandes. Wir von SHEA YEA beziehen die Sheabutter aus dem Norden Ghanas.

Herstellung Sheabutter

SHEABUTTER TRADITIONELL HERGESTELLT

Viele Frauen in den ländlichen Dorfgemeinschaften im Norden Ghanas beherrschen eine wahre Kunstform eines Handwerks: Die der traditionellen Verarbeitung der Sheakerne zu unraffinierter Sheabutter. Dieser Prozess dauert mehrere Tage und wird sorgfältig von Hand durchgeführt. Seit Generationen wird dieses Wissen unter den Frauen weitergegeben und auf diese Weise aufrechterhalten. Eine Parallele wie es mit dem Wissen rund um die Kräutern in der Schweiz auch geschieht.

DIE KOOPERATIVEN

Die Frauen, die in den Verarbeitungszentren arbeiten (wir arbeiten nur mit handgefertigtem Material), sind in Kooperativen organisiert. Diese Kooperativen sind unabhängig und sehr demokratisch mit einem Vorstand, der von den Mitgliedern gewählt wird. Die Kooperativen entlöhnen die Mitarbeitenden transparent und gleichmässig auf der Grundlage der produzierten Mengen. Unser lokaler Partner vor Ort bezahlt die Kooperativen und sie bezahlen ihre Mitglieder und decken ihre Kosten. Die Bio-Sheabutter ist ausserdem Fair For Life-zertifiziert und wird jedes Jahr überprüft. Zudem sind wir Member der globalen Shea-Allianz mit Sitz in Accra, Ghana.

Der Unterschied

Die Qualität von Sheabutter variiert, ähnlich wie bei der Herstellung eines Weines oder Olivenöls, je nach Herkunft und Verarbeitungsmethode. Deshalb gibt es von Sheabutter zu Sheabutter signifikante Unterschiede in der Qualität. Wir setzen besonders auf unraffinierte, pure Sheabutter und sorgen auch mit weiteren Faktoren für eine hochwertige Qualität unserer Produkte:

  • Traditionelle Herstellung
  • Bio-zertifiziert
  • Getestet im Labor
  • Direkte Kontakte vor Ort
  • Mitgliedschaft der Global Shea Allianz (GSA) zur Förderung der Nachhaltigkeit (sozial, ökologisch und ökonomisch) der Shea-Industrie

Nachhaltiger Kreislauf

SHEA YEAH versucht, wo es nur möglich ist, schonend mit den Ressourcen der Umwelt umzugehen.

Auch unsere Partner unterstützen dabei. Deshalb werden beispielsweise die Nebenprodukte der Produktion mit einem traditionellen System zu Brennstoff & Futtermitteln recycelt. Der Brennstoff wiederum wird dann anstelle von Holz für die Produktion verwendet. So entsteht ein natürlicher Nutzungskreislauf, der der Umwelt zugutekommt.

Überzeuge dich selbst
von SHEA YEAH

Zum Shop